KSID Radio
Click to choose your station
Shop Here - Shop Now - SAVE BIG
Click to play Sky FM Click to play The Fort
SKY FM Stream The Fort AM Stream

Sidney High School student serves on Congressman Smith’s Youth Advisory Council

GIBBON Neb. – Republican Congressman Adrian Smith who serves the third district of Nebraska met this week with the Third District high school students who will serve on his Youth Advisory Council for the 2017-2018 academic school year. The meeting was at Roe Sanctuary in Gibbon on Wednesday.

Sarah-Kate Splichal who attends Sidney High School is one of the 28 youth council members.

Smith’s Youth Advisory Council is a forum for high school students to discuss opinions, thoughts, and concerns about local and federal issues with Smith throughout the school year.  Through in-person meetings and other contacts, the Council provides students an opportunity for involvement and insight into their government and communities.

The Council is open to Third District junior and senior high school students. More information is available on Smith’s website AdrianSmith.house.gov/YouthAdvisoryCouncil.


Members of Congressman Smith’s 2017-2018 Youth Advisory Council at their first meeting on Wednesday, August 2, at Rowe Sanctuary in Gibbon.  Front row (L to R): Rowe Sanctuary Director Bill Taddicken, Congressman Smith, Reganne Schrunk, Rece Jordan, Kathleen Esser, Mekenzie Beattie, Sarah-Kate Splichal, Samuel Johnson, Mia Kegley, Anne Pham, and Tommy McFarland.  Back row (L to R): Rowe Sanctuary Director of Conservation Andrew Pierson, Ambrose Bykerk, Alice McDonald, John Brockmeier, Kaleb Strawhecker, Maxwell Jinks, Gavin Fox, Mark Taylor, Hunter Hawk, Katrina Meier, Michelle Boroff, and Emily Kouba.


2017-2018 Youth Advisory Council members include:  

Mekenzie Beattie of Sumner, Sumner-Eddyville-Miller High School;

Michelle Boroff of Grand Island, Grand Island Senior High School;

John Brockmeier of Kearney, Kearney High School;

Ambrose Bykerk of Doniphan, St. Cecilia High School;

Kitra Cody of Cody, Cody-Kilgore High School;

Isaac Dodge of Callaway, Broken Bow Senior High School;

Kathleen Esser of York, York High School;

Gavin Fox of Grand Island, Grand Island Central Catholic High School;

Galdino Guzman of South Sioux City, South Sioux City High School;

Hunter Hawk of Chadron, Chadron High School;

Maxwell Jinks of Gothenburg, Gothenburg High School;

Samuel Johnson of Hastings, Hastings High School;

Rece Jordan of Valentine, Valentine High School;

Mia Kegley of Kearney, Kearney High School;

Emily Kouba of Auburn, Homeschool;

Alice McDonald of Phillips, Aurora High School;

Tommy McFarland of Grand Island, Grand Island Central Catholic High School;

Jaden McNeil of Hastings, Adams Central High School;

Katrina Meier of Pierce, Pierce High School;

Corey Parsons of North Platte, North Platte High School;

Anne Pham of Grand Island, Grand Island Central Catholic High School;

Nathan Sanchez of Scottsbluff, Scottsbluff High School;

Karmen Schmitt of Smithfield, Bertrand High School;

Reganne Schrunk of Valentine, Valentine High School;

Sarah-Kate Splichal of Sidney, Sidney High School;

Kaleb Strawhecker of Kearney, Kearney High School;

Mark Taylor of Chadron, Chadron High School;

and Rita Woodraska of Valentine, Valentine High School.



13° F
Sidney, NE
Copyright © 2018 KSID Radio
Designed and Hosted by RiverBender.com

KSID Radio
2306 Legion Park Road
P.O. Box 37
Sidney, Nebraska 69162

Phone: 308.254.5803
Toll Free: 800.322.5743
Fax: 308.254.5901